Weekend Preview

Transformers PosterWell this is it ladies and gentlemen. This is THE big movie weekend. Independence Day is here, and it brought it’s friends, hot dogs and the long movie weekend.

Since most films are making their debut tomorrow (technically today, as you may be watching them as I type this), I thought I would put up the weekend preview a little early. This week our guests will be a definite bomb about a Ca-razy Priest and some far fetched nonsense about cars that can turn into fighting robots.

New in theaters this week:

Transformers

It’s finally here. That movie you’ve probably heard plenty about, and with good reason. Transformers opens with what is sure to be a bang this weekend.

The story, of course, revolves around to rival alien robot races, the Autobots and the Decepticons. This time they battle on Earth for a highly regarded mystical entity. For those of you who are in no way interested in seeing this movie, I’ll readily admit that that is the most ridiculous sentence I have ever written on this site. Give this one a chance, though. Let me see if I can sway you.

When I first heard that this movie was in production, I thought it was a terrible idea. I even thought it looked horrible after seeing the teaser. I didn’t even watch the cartoon when I was younger and I was still disappointed that Optimus Prime didn’t seem to resemble the action figure I remembered so well. After seeing so much positive news though I started to turn. The movie didn’t look that bad (and as Lorenzo can attest, it isn’t).

Give Steven Spielberg a little credit, as well. The man obviously knows good movies. His excellent track record proves that much. Michael Bay also catches a lot of criticism for his movies being more about the chases and explosions than the story, but come on…you can go back up and read the plot outline again. This movie is about shape-shifting alien robots. Do we need to really examine this thing or just enjoy it?

Bay is in charge of a decent cast, as well. Future superstar Shia LaBeouf stars in the lead role as Sam Witwicky, a young kid who buys his first car, which turns out to be an Autobot named Bumblebee sent to protect him. Josh Duhamel, Tyrese Gibson, Anthony Anderson, Jon Voight, and John Turturro also star.

Prediction:

This fight was over before it started. Based on the competition, hype, and what I have already been told this movie has made, I get the feeling this weekend will be a landslide victory for everyone attached to Transformers. I’ve already heard from plenty of people that the movie is great and it’s already made almost as much in one day as Fantastic Four did last weekend ($8.8 million and $9 million respectively). Do not be at all afraid to check this one out July 4th before you start blowing stuff up like Michael Bay in your front yard.

License to Wed

I called License to Wed a bomb earlier in this article, but I’m really not trying to be negative. It is just becoming quite clear that Transformers is the movie everyone is flocking to see this weekend. That said, this one has been getting terrible reviews.

Critics don’t like Robin Williams anymore. I’m really not sure why that is. I know he’s been doing the same material for like 40 years, but why didn’t I hear critics complaining until a few of years ago? My verdict: One Hour Photo. The man plays in one serious role and suddenly his old shtick makes him unwatchable. Just a thought. I’m probably wrong.

License to Wed follows the story of an engaged couple played by John Krasinski (The Office) and Mandy Moore (my dreams) who request the services of a priest (Williams) for their wedding. Before he agrees to anything, however, they must be put through his marriage preparation course. Hijinks ensue.

I really like the cast involved here. John Krasinski is fantastic on The Office, and it looks like for this movie they brought in quite a few of his NBC co-stars to help bring the funny. I also have nothing against Mandy Moore. She’s proven in the past that she does have some acting talent. Hopefully this vehicle will allow her to showcase those skills even more, although from what I hear her character is pretty flat. Robin Williams I’ve mentioned already. As a comedic actor he can be hit and miss (sort of reminds me of Chris Rock, who is hilarious on a stage, but rarely if ever good in movies) but this looks like it should easily be better than The First Man or RV, for what it’s worth.

Prediction:

This movie is a change of pace from the action and flash of Transformers if for some reason you aren’t into giant warring robot gangs. It is going to get buried by Spielberg and the transforming cars this week, but later on (I’m thinking DVD) it could have some value. Don’t expect much of it in it’s theater run. Feel free to check it out if Transformers is sold out, but there may be better movies out there.

Top 5 Predictions:

1. Transformers

2. Ratatouille

3. License To Wed

4. Live Free or Die Hard

5. Evan Almighty

Explore posts in the same categories: Box Office, News, Weekend Preview

Leave a Reply

