Review — Transformers

bumblebee.gif

Of the many popular cartoon franchises from my childhood, Transformers was not one of my favorites. Don’t get me wrong, I liked it, but I never got into as much as other people my age. Now here we are twenty-something years later and Transformers is making a comeback on the big-screen. Honestly, I started out as a skeptic of the project but as more and more information came out about it the more excited I got. There is something about seeing a little piece of your childhood, whether it was your favorite or not, on the big-screen after all these years that you can’t help but love. So was this movie “more than meets the eye?”

Sam Witwicky (Shia Labeouf) is a teen desperate to buy his first car. Unfortunately, the used car lot his dad takes him to doesn’t exactly have what he wants, but he does manage to find an older Camaro that he likes. This is no ordinary car, though. Not only does it try to help him woo his longtime crush Mikeala (Megan Fox) but it also protects him during an attack. How can a car do that? Because it’s actually Bumblebee, an Autobot sent to be Sam’s guardian. As the story unfolds we find out that the Autobots, a group of good alien robots, need Sam’s help to stop the Decepticons (bad robots) from retrieving the Allspark, a mysterious cube that harnesses an incredible amount of power. Can Sam defy the odds and help the Autobots defeat their foes?

As as excited as I was to finally get to see this film, I had another one of those instance where it took me a while to really get into the movie. It wasn’t really because of a lack of action though. Explosions, car chases, and giant robots battling on Earth; To say that this movie is action-packed seems like an understatement, but that shouldn’t be surprising considering this is a Michael Bay film. Here, more than ever, is it obvious that he loves to do action movies. That’s a good thing, though. All the action sequences were well executed but not with the help of some first class CGI. The robots in general looked fantastic and I applaud those responsible. From an editing standpoint though, some of the cuts were too quick and some shots too close and it made it hard to see what exactly was going on.

One of my other problems was the acting. While most of the cast, overall, was good, there weren’t that may stand out performances –and there were some performances that I thought were terrible. I know most people don’t necessarily go to action movies for the acting, but it’s just something that I can’t help but notice. I’m not saying that all the acting was bad, though. Shia LaBeouf can act, and he is easily one of the highlights of this film. There was also a very funny scene in a police station with Rick Gomez. I enjoyed all the voice acting, as well, especially Peter Cullen returning to voice Optimus Prime after all these years.

Action, comedy, and a little bit of romance, this one has a little bit of it all. Don’t expect movie to be deep and heavy with character development, but you should expect to have a good time. This is one you need to see in the theaters. Oh and expect a sequel.

Explore posts in the same categories: Action/Adventure, Drama, In Theaters, Review, Scifi/Fantasy

3 Comments on “Review — Transformers”

  1. Asymmetric Says:

    Transformers combines the best spcial effects I’ve seen and the typical Spielberg greatness. If you liked War of the Worlds or Jurassic Park, you’ll like this one.

    Asymmetric Review

  2. Lorenzo Says:

    I think you’re right. There are a lot of reviewers complaining different things in this movie and really I had similar gripes, But the one thing I can say definitively is that at the end I was satisfied and isn’t that what you should feel at the end of a movie?

  3. Maverick Says:

    transformers was gud, the story wasnt too convincing but then which sci-fi is? on the whole had a gud time for 2.5 hrs.


Leave a Reply

