Another Childhood Cartoon Franchise To Ruin, Here’s ‘The Chipmunks’

alvinchipmunks.gifI really had no idea this movie was in the works, but it’s far enough along to have it’s own poster.  Dave Seville is coming to the big screen along with Alvin, Simon, and Theodore.  I realize some of you may be unfamiliar with these names so let me explain.

These are characters from Alvin and the Chipmunks a popular cartoon series from my youth.  Basically Dave played dad/manager to these three singing chipmunks.  I know that might sound kind of lame, but I actually liked the show when I was younger.  Anyway so they’re making a live action movie out of it and there’s now picture of the poster online(click for a bigger version over at Coming Soon).

Here’s my problem with it.  I can’t help but think about how terrible the Garfield movies were and the upcoming Underdog movie looks just as bad.  Underdog should look like this, not like this.   I actually don’t think the chipmunks look that bad in the poster, they aren’t too realistic but they still don’t look much like the originals.  They are using the original voice talent at least.

I am a fan of Jason Lee (My Name Is Earl) so I hold on to some hope that this will turn out to be decent.  It’s due out December 14 of this year.

I know this kind of turned into a rant, so forgive me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Action/Adventure, Adaptation, Animated, Comedy, Family, News, Poster

Leave a Reply

