Review — Live Free or Die Hard

lfodh-review.gif

Yippee-ki-yay, moth…..well you know how it goes. It’s time to get excited fans, Bruce Willis has returned to his role as John McClane in Live Free or Die Hard but can it live up to all the hype? I decided to find out for myself and I ended up being surprised. Pleasantly surprised.

We find an aging John McClane, who is still part of the NYPD, trying to have some sort of relationship with his daughter, and failing miserably. But McClane doesn’t have much time to think about it because soon after he’s sent to pickup Matt Farrell (Justin Long) a hacker who have something to do with the FBI’s computer system being hacked. What seems like a simple errand turns into a big mess and John is, like always, right smack dab in the middle of it. It turns out, Matt, along with a handful of other hackers who are now dead, has unknowingly helped a group of Cyber-Terrorists, led by Timothy Olyphant, gain access to all of our government’s highly secure area’s. But they’ve got a McClane standing in the way of their success. But between babysitting Matt and killing baddies, things get a bit more personal when his daughter (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) is kidnapped and held hostage.

Fans of the original Die Hard might be taken aback by this sequel. Yes, John McClane is still the hero, but we aren’t exactly dealing with the same guy that we’ve grown accustomed to seeing, thats not a bad thing though. He seems to have matured, both physically and mentally. No, that doesn’t mean we don’t see him having a lot of fun on screen, but I think it adds a little more depth to his character. On side note, even though he’s aged a bit since we last saw him, McClane seems to be in the best shape he has ever been in.

Alright, let’s get to the action, since that is really what it’s all about. This is really one of the best, if not the best, action movies I’ve seen in a while. It had a good variety of action sequences, with a few over-the-top scenes just to spice things up. I also felt like this movie had some great, well executed stunts.

The cast overall was pretty enjoyable to watch. Of course Willis was great, but what about Justin Long? I’m not sure why so many people seem to hate him, I thought he was pretty entertaining to watch on-screen with Bruno. Who knew he could play a computer nerd? Seriously though, give him some credit, he did good. Timothy Olyphant was a good villain, he had that whole “I’m deranged” look going for him, but the movie didn’t really give him enough room to do anything extraordinary. Kevin Smith also had a small part as Warlock, a super hacker who’s “command center” is located in his mom’s basement. I also like seeing Smith on screen and this is no exception. His part was funny and quite enjoyable to watch.

I do a few complaints, but only one that really bothered me enough to mention. The biggest thing I noticed was some poor editing in a few scenes. One scene in particular has Justin Long ranting and raving in the background but the audio wasn’t syncing up. It was very obvious that this scene was dubbed over with some new audio. I don’t want to make a huge deal about it considering I enjoyed the movie so much, but it really just threw my concentration off. I’d expect better from a big budget summer blockbuster.

I never expected to walk away feeling as entertained as I was and I don’t mind admitting. I know you might be worried that the PG-13 rating ruined the film, but honestly I thought it worked out. You still have a lot of action and killing, it’s just not as graphic and there isn’t as much cursing. I think you’ll get over it. Go see this one in theaters.

Explore posts in the same categories: Action/Adventure, Drama, In Theaters, Review

2 Comments on “Review — Live Free or Die Hard”

  1. Grant Says:

    Yeah I noticed the editiing too. Word is that they rushed through editing to get it a PG13 rating. I noticed several times where there was bad editing there very well could have been an “F” word instead of some other alternative. And in the one instance you hear the word, it’s kinda muffled, and wasn’t as exciting as the first “Yippee Ki Yay” in Nakatomi Plaza.

    I agree with your assessment. Geniuses think alike.

  2. Lorenzo Says:

    Well it shows. Glad you noticed too. It really was a bit distracting. But overall quite enjoyable.


Leave a Reply

