Weekend Roll Call: 7-2-07

RataouilleThe month of July has arrived, and mice ride high on the wave of blockbusters it ushers in. John McClane takes the number two spot by force, and all the other movies roll over as one falls out like a nursery rhyme (you kids remember that one right?)

Nobody is going to hold down the number one spot at the box office two weeks in a row this summer. There are far too many heavyweights in the field. This weeks new number one is Pixar’s Ratatouille. No one can say Pixar doesn’t know what they are doing. They bring top-notch stuff every time out. This time it got them $47.2 million. I’ll admit I was wrong about this one (I’ll be doing that a lot in this article). I thought everyone might be getting tired of the talking animals, but from what I’ve seen since I wrote the weekend preview it looks like this story smells fresher than some of the others. I know Lorenzo has already reviewed it, so I will let his review speak for just how entertaining this movie is.

I thought Live Free or Die Hard would be the big winner this weekend, but if you read my preview you will notice I had a little doubt. The fourth installment of the Die Hard franchise made $33.1 million this weekend. I’m still anxious to see how many people might have skipped this action flick for the one coming up on July 4th. The one with all the shape-shifting cars.

Rounding out the top five are the big guns from last week. Evan Almighty drops to third at $15.1 million, 1408 takes fourth with $10.6 million, and Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer holds on at number five with $9 million.

Top 5 Results:

1.Ratatouille – $47.2 million

2. Live Free or Die Hard – $33.1 million

3. Evan Almighty – $15.1 million

4. 1408 – $10.6 million

5. Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer – $9 million

Explore posts in the same categories: Box Office, News, Weekend Roll Call

Leave a Reply

