Weekend Preview

Evan AlmightyThis week brings us to a pretty big weekend for new movies. On top of the already crowded field of hits currently in theaters, Hollywood attempts to add a few more into the mix. A Sam Jackson thriller, a highly anticipated drama, a promising indie, and a comedy of Biblical proportions. That’s a lot of ground to cover, so let’s get on it.

New in theaters this week:

Evan Almighty

God is back in theaters this week. Morgan Freeman joins Steve Carell this week in the sequel to the very successful (and entertaining) Bruce Almighty. If you remember Carell in the first film, he played Buffalo newsman Evan Baxter in a small, but hilarious role. This time around, Baxter is a U.S. Senator and gets his first order from a guy named God, who informs him he is to build an ark in preparation for a great flood.

This is the part of the article where I talk about how great The Office on NBC is. I think my associate Lorenzo might have mentioned this in an earlier article (or maybe it was me), but it really is a great show. Maybe it’s not for everybody. I know many members of the fairer sex who do not care for the show, for instance. If you’ve ever thought about checking it out though I would strongly encourage you to do so. Quite possibly my favorite show. I mention all this, of course, because Steve Carell stars in that series as the annoying boss Michael Scott. Let’s hope he can bring the same level of the funny here that he does on the small screen. We’ll pick up this lesson when I talk about John Krasinski in License to Wed.

Morgan Freeman is always great of course, and I look forward to seeing him reprise his role as our creator.

Prediction:

I’m told comedies don’t always do so well at the box office (not in one weekend anyway – ex. Knocked Up). The drop off Ocean’s 13 saw last weekend though makes me think this one should be at the top of the charts come this Monday. As far as whether the movie will be any good or not I’m not sure. I have a hard time imagining it being better than its predecessor (sequels usually aren’t, after all). It also looks like they might be looking for a slightly younger audience this go ’round. The movie is rated PG so it can’t be as serious as the last one was at times. I’ll definitely give it a shot though.

1408

This is another movie that I know very little about. I haven’t payed much attention to what I’ve seen about it so far. Looks like it’s about a writer who debunks paranormal events checks into a haunted hotel. Terror ensues.

John Cusack takes the lead in this one. I usually think of him as a love story guy, but he’s been down this road before with Identity (which I was more interested in seeing).

Samuel L. Jackson makes a lot of movies. I can’t even keep track of them all. Black Snake Moan comes out on DVD soon and I’m looking forward to checking it out. He shot one with Jessica Biel and Curtis “50 Cent” Jackson called Home of the Brave at one point that I lost track of. I’m already seeing things for Ressurecting the Champ with Josh Hartnett. He’s a good actor who I like to watch, but I probably won’t see him in 1408.

Prediction:

It has been fairly heavily advertised, but I get the feeling this one will not make many waves with so many other big budget films performing so well. Sounds like an interesting film, but look for it to do much better on DVD.

A Mighty Heart

Brad Pitt and Jennifer Anniston’s production company brings us the story of Daniel Pearl’s widow in this film. Angelina Jolie plays the role of Marianne Pearl as she learns her husband is missing and eventually discovers his fate.

I thought about mentioning how I’m not a fan of Angelina Jolie and don’t really see why everybody finds her so attractive, but after typing out the plotline of this movie it just seems crass now. She’s probably good actress given the right role. Keep in mind that she is “Oscar winner Angelina Jolie.” Like I said though, I’ve never been a big fan.

I thought it was interesting that Jennifer Anniston was rumored to have been in the running for the part of Marianne Pearl at one point. This one has been in the works for while, so maybe Brad got this one in the divorce.

Prediction:

This movie seems pretty critic proof considering the tragic storyline, so look for good reviews. It won’t make any money right out of the gate though. I couldn’t find out if this was a nation-wide release or limited, but either way it’s probably the closest thing to an Oscar contender out right now. It would offer a change of pace from the Summer blockbusters if you like smaller, more dramatic movies. This one is sure to be emotionally draining.

You Kill Me

Ben Kingsley stars here as an alcoholic hit-man drying out on the west coast where he meets Tea Leoni before heading back to Buffalo to settle old scores.

Big ups to Buffalo, NY this week I guess. Two mentions in one week.

I’ve been trying to keep an eye on this one all summer. Ben Kingsley does great work, and Tea Leoni can be good too in certain parts. This one looks good to me. I live in a small town where it is hard to see limited releases, but I look forward to seeing this one on DVD. If you live in a large city (like Buffalo, NY, whoo!) this is another alternative to the big blockbusters that might be worth checking out.

Prediction:

It’s a limited release. An independent movie without much promotion behind it. Basically a non-factor in the Hollywood paper chase.

Top 5 Predictions:

1. Evan Almighty

2. Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer

3. Ocean’s 13

4. Knocked Up

5. Surf’s Up

Explore posts in the same categories: Box Office, News

Leave a Reply

