Weekend Preview

ff-alba.gif

Jessica Alba season starts this weekend, ladies and gentlemen…or maybe just gentlemen.Need I say more?

New in theaters this week:

Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer.

Silver Surfer is the second installment of the Marvel franchise brought to the big screen. Ioan Gruffudd, Jessica Alba, Chris Evans, Michael Chiklis don the tights once again to do battle with The Silver Surfer (voiced by Laurence Fishburne) and something called “Galactus.” It is at this point that I will admit to you I know very little about the Fantastic Four Comic books, but I did see the first installment of this series.

I thought the cast was pretty good in the first flick, and they’re all obviously back for this go ’round. What blindsided me was the fact that Laurence Fishburne was the voice of the Silver Surfer. Honestly, with all the promotion this movie has gotten you’d think that fact would have gotten across to me somewhere.

This will be Jessica Alba’s first movie of the summer. If I’m not mistaken she still has Good Luck Chuck and The Ten on the way, so we’ll see how much, if any, her star rises by this fall.

Prediction:

While I didn’t think the first film was great, it was decent entertainment. I’m not expecting much from the second one either but I’m willing to give everybody involved the benefit of the doubt on this one and say it will be watchable. Completely seperate from the quality of this type of film is the amount of money it is capable of making. On that front I’d say they’ll be working on a third installment soon (meaning this one should do very well). Comic books fans, dates, and adolescent males should all be excited about this one.

Nancy Drew

For the kids this weekend we get the film version of Nancy Drew. Emma Roberts (Julia’s niece, Eric’s daughter) stars as the teen detective who begins to uncover clues that lead to a murder mystery involving a film star.

I have never read a Nancy Drew book but this film actually looks like is has some potential to me. It will have to compete with Surf’s Up and Shrek 3 for the young audience, but this is a live action alternative to the animated features. I hear they are already writing the second film despite the fact that this one hasn’t even been released, so if this one turns out to be any good we’ll have the second one to look forward to.

Prediction:

I don’t know a lot about Emma Roberts or the rest of the cast but this movie looks like one the kids should enjoy. I myself may not be standing in the ticket line, but don’t let that stop you. There are a lot of big movies out in theaters right now. Hopefully this solid looking project won’t be capsized by the rest of the big waves. I don’t see it making the top five.

DOA: Dead or Alive

In the latest film adaptation of a video game to film, the girls from Dead or Alive go at it in this one. Not much to talk about here. I heard this one has been done for a while and they’ve just been putting off rolling it out. Jamie Pressly filmed this before she got My Name is Earl, so one wonders if she would have done things differently had she known what the future held. I also liked Devon Aoki in Sin City. Sorry to see her slumming in this one. Maybe this was filmed before that too.

Prediction:

Hey, I could be way off. I haven’t seen the movie so for all I know it could be excellent. I’m not holding out much hope though. I can picture someone paying to see it sometime in the next three weeks.

Top 5 Predictions:

1. Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer

2. Ocean’s 13

3. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End

4. Knocked Up

5. Surf’s Up

Explore posts in the same categories: Box Office

Leave a Reply

