6/4/07: Box Office Numbers

I saw today where Pirates of the Caribbean was the top box office earner this weekend, which I guess shouldn’t surprise me.

I was hoping to see Knocked Up take the top spot this week. I have a special place in my heart for anything involving director Judd Apatow. He’s got two great TV series under his belt (Freaks and Geeks, Undeclared) and I loved The 40 Year Old Virgin (which he also directed). Seth Rogen (the lead in Knocked Up) is fantastic in everything I see him in as well. Knocked Up came in at the number 2 spot this weekend. I plan on catching that one and reviewing it as soon as possible.

Rounding out the rest of the top five this weekend are Shrek the Third (which my 5 year old cousin enjoyed), Mr. Brooks (recommended by my esteemed colleague on this very site), and Spiderman 3 (which I think Zo and I would both agree is a very entertaining traffic jam of plot-lines and action).

Probably can’t go wrong with any of these this weekend if you’re looking for something to watch. Plus Ocean’s 13 is coming up, so it will be interesting to see how much money Hollywood can take from us all at one time with this abundance of blockbusters.

I’ve taken the liberty of listing the top five grossing movies of the weekend below in case you didn’t want to read any of the above:

1. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End

2. Knocked Up

3. Shrek the Third

4. Mr. Brooks

5. Spiderman 3

Explore posts in the same categories: News

Leave a Reply

