10 Items or Less

I went into 10 Items or Less knowing little more about it than the fact that Morgan Freeman played an actor studying for a film role and that Paz Vega was somehow involved. That was pretty much it. So with that in mind I sat down to watch this film and was not at all disappointed.

The plot is actually pretty simple and basically follows Morgan Freeman’s and Paz Vega’s characters as they work towards getting Vega’s character through a job interview, but the simplicity only served to get me more involved in the whole thing. I felt like I was in the backseat of the car riding around with the characters. It was great. Just imagine how cool it would be to actually hang out with Morgan Freeman for a day. In a sense, that is the essence of this movie.

There is kind of a running gag where we never actually get the name of Morgan Freeman’s character which sort of implies that he is playing himself. He drops the names of a few celebrities he’s worked with. People repeatedly refer to him as “that guy from that Ashley Judd movie.” There’s a great scene at a Target department store where he drops Clint Eastwood’s name. Those are just a couple of things that imply we’re watching the “real” Morgan Freeman.

All that said, I can’t imagine anyone who would be able to pull this movie off other than Morgan Freeman. He already seems so warm and friendly in everything else I’ve ever seen him in that this movie just feels natural. Paz Vega (who I liked in Spanglish) is great in the role of a frustrated grocery store checker as well. Both actors work well together on screen, whether they’re exploring a department store, washing a car, or singing in two different languages.

What didn’t I like? The only thing that comes to mind is the ending of the movie. To me it just felt a little sudden. Sure the sun had gone down, so if we’re following one day in the life of the characters it would naturally have to end then, but for reasons I can’t quite articulate, it didn’t feel right. Probably my only complaint.

I went into this movie really wanting to see it (I waited for weeks before it opened up in my Netflix queue), but I tried to keep my expectations low. I didn’t quite know what to expect from this independent. I believe this is the director’s first film, and if I were more gung-ho I could tell you that I’m sure of that, but I’m not. If it is, however, I can honestly say that I look forward to seeing some of his future projects. The word “inspiring” seems a little overused, but I can definitely see where this film might leave you feeling good about where you are in life. Sort of a “look on the bright side” type of thing I guess. As the credits started to roll I definitely felt uplifted (another overused word).

I’d absolutely recommend this movie to anyone and everyone. I can understand where independent films might not be everybody’s thing, but if you’re okay with a simple and straight-forward plot line, there should be something here for you. A simple (fresh) story made very enjoyable by one of the greatest actors to ever live.

Explore posts in the same categories: DVD, Independent, Review

Leave a Reply

